BeerSmith™ Home Brewing Forum

Brewing Topics => Brewing Discussion => Topic started by: Oak Beach Brewery Richard on December 23, 2016, 09:41:43 PM

Title: Can't change Est. Pre-Boil volume in Recipe
Post by: Oak Beach Brewery Richard on December 23, 2016, 09:41:43 PM
Hi

I need to change the Est. Pre-Boil volume in Recipe and it won't allow a change.

How can I change it please.

Thank you
Title: Re: Can't change Est. Pre-Boil volume in Recipe
Post by: Oginme on December 24, 2016, 04:47:31 AM
The volumes within the program are calculated based upon the amount into the fermentor (batch size) and your process losses.  If you know the pre-boil volume to be wrong, then one of your inputs into the equipment file for either process losses (lauter tun losses, loss to trub and chiller, boil off rate, grain absorption) is not correctly entered for your process.  You can always use this brew to dial in your losses into BeerSmith by using the amount of water you think is correct and measuring your volumes at each step so that you can calculate your losses and update your equipment profile to better fit your process.
Title: Re: Can't change Est. Pre-Boil volume in Recipe
Post by: Oak Beach Brewery Richard on December 24, 2016, 04:47:48 PM
Thank you for your response - very helpful and informative.