• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Questions About Home Inspections

lukafred

New Forum Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm in the process of buying a new home, and I've scheduled a home inspection for next week. This is my first time going through this process, and I want to make sure I'm prepared. I've been doing some research, but I still have a few questions I was hoping you all could help me with:

1. What are some of the most important areas/items that should be thoroughly inspected during a home inspection?
  2. Are there any red flags I should watch out for during the inspection that might indicate larger issues with the property?
  3. How long does a typical home inspection take, and should I plan to be present for the entire inspection?
  4. Is it common to uncover issues during the inspection that might affect the sale price or require repairs before closing?
  5. Are there any specific questions I should ask the inspector before the inspection begins to ensure I have a clear understanding of the process and what to expect?

Hey everyone,

I'm in the process of buying a new home, and I've scheduled a home inspection for next week. This is my first time going through this process, and I want to make sure I'm prepared. I've been doing some research, but I still have a few questions I was hoping you all could help me with:

1. What are some of the most important areas/items that should be thoroughly inspected during a home inspection?
  2. Are there any red flags I should watch out for during the inspection that might indicate larger issues with the property?
  3. How long does a typical home inspection take, and should I plan to be present for the entire inspection?