• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Newbie Questions

cptozzy

Apprentice
Reaction score
I am a Brewing Newbie.  I got a Mr. Beer for Christmas and managed to get a surprisingly "not bad" beer out of it.  for my 2nd Mr. Beer batch I didn't have the carbonation pellets so I used table sugar (cane Sugar).  After 1 week in the bottle It seemed pretty flat (Both batches had fermented for 2 weeks before bottling).  I haven't opened another one yet (Its now 2 weeks since bottling).

I've done a bit of reading  & upgraded my equipment and got a couple of 5 Gallon Brew kits and brewed them up 10 days ago.  I One of these kits came with "priming sugar"  which appears to be powdered sugar. 

Question 1:  Is there a difference between "priming Sugar" and Regular Cane Sugar ? 

This past weekend I transferred one batch to a secondary fermenter (glass carboy), and I will do the same for the second batch today or tomorrow. My book suggested using Gelatin for "fining" to make a clearer beer while transferring from the primary fermenter to the secondary fermenter.  I bought some plain gelatin at the Grocery Store.

Question 2:  Any tips on using the Gelatin for Fining?  How does the gelatin make the beer clearer?

For both these 5 Gallon Batches I maintained an airtight tight seal with an airlock during (primary) fermentation as well as secondary fermentation.  One of my readings advocated a tight seal during fermentation, another advocated loosely covering the batch during primary fermentation then airtight during secondary fermentation.  As I think  about it I recall my Microbiology class and the Krebs Cycle where Anaerobic metabolism results in Lactic Acid...

Question 3:  should I use an  airtight seal for primary fermentation ?

Thanks