• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Length of time required to condition

Angels Nectar

Apprentice
Reaction score
I have been brewing for about 15 years, but really took it seriously about 3 years ago. I have tried to devour anything I can get my hands on to learn everything I can about brewing. But the one thing that really eludes me is how do you know how long a beer should wait until it is ready?
I have seen many recipes that have very different "ready times" from 4 weeks to six months (or more for barleywines and meads). I understand why meads and wines need more time. But what about other styles, how do I know how long I should wait for it to be ready? I would prefer not to keep tapping a keg only to find out it still needs to sit longer.  I have been designing recipes for a while and I think this would be helpful to know that an IPA should be ready in 4 weeks and a Tripple should be 3 months. I currently brew all grain, partial mash batches and keg with forced carbonation.
I have asked everybody..even pro brewers and have not ever been given a "guide" or way to figure out how long a beer style should take to be finished.

there are rough guidelines but it's so subjective and you have to remember that beer is a living thing, each batch, heck each pint will be different than the last. This is why the big guys spend SOOO much money trying to make the product as close as possible to 'the same' each time. it's really really hard and expensive.

so rough guidelines:

Wheat beers, fresher the better. Just short of 'still fermenting' is about right. you want the yeast to have attenuated fully, re absorbed any undesirable compounds they excreted earlier and that's about it. they should still largely be in suspension even.