• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Does my fermenter look ok?

BigBBrew

Brewer
Reaction score
This is my first attempt at home brewing. I made the mistake of putting the airlock on my fermenter the first day. I return home from work to find my plug and airlock on the floor and thick foam crawling out. I changed to a tube in a bucket of water. Please look at this and tell me if things look ok. Thanks

looks fine and dandy to me. blow off tubes are handy aren't they. 

You need to add some starsan to the bucket of water. From the picture your yeast is plenty healthy. It will settle down in a couple days. I would recommend a larger container, with more head space for your next batch.

Remember to sanitize, sanitize, sanitize !!!

Thanks for the advice. I did put some starsan in the water. Every site, blog and podcast I've seen and read has put a lot emphasis on the need to be diligent about sanitization. Thanks for taking the time to reply about the wellness of my beer. I'll be able to rest easier tonight.

It does indeed look fine.

What temp did you pitch yeast at? one of the things that causes really robust fermentations like that is pitching at too high a temp. I generally pitch an ale at around 62-64*f and hold it there for the first 3-7 days so the fermentation starts out a little more sedately. You get less blowoff and more importantly less danger or fusel alcohols which give me a terrible headache.

The mark of a REAL home brewer is krausen stains on the ceiling! Most of us have had your experience. Congratulations on getting started on the endless learning process!