• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Several Questions from a new Brewer

JayfromBrooklyn

Apprentice
Reaction score
I recently started brewing, and there a few things I was hoping someone here could help me out with:

1. Can I use bottled water or does it have to be boiled first for sanitation? Also, after sanitizing, can I dry my stuff with paper towels?

2. How do I filter out all the gunk from the beer before bottling?

3. Is it really so bad to use a stainless steel pot for the wort?

Thanks all!

I use bottled water all the time.  I am under the impression that the water is bottled under sterile conditions.  I have not had any problems so far.

To clear your beer, you can "cold crash" it.  In other words put the beer in your refridgerator for a couple of days before bottleing.

Stainless steel is recommended.  Aluminum can be used, according to John Palmer, if you boil water in it for 30 minutes before using it the first time.