• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Hop straining (I am a newbie sorry!)

markpeyton

New Forum Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone. I am new to home brewing beer and thought I would turn to some others. I love making wine and cider so now I have ventured into beer making. I will basically be making all gluten free beers as my girlfriend is celiac and she wants to enjoy it too.

Moving onto business, I am brand spanking new to beer so I spent some time at my local home brewing store and I picked up a couple gluten free beer kits and got started on them. They told me not to strain the hops but in my homework that I have been doing, I am seeing that you should be doing this. Here is my predicament: I have one batch that is in the secondary fermenter and one batch just went on. Would it be okay to strain when I move batch 1 over to the final fermenter before adding the priming sugar and then when I move batch 2 to the second fermenter. It did not say anywhere in the step by step instructions to strain it but that it would clear up on it's own.

I know this may be a stupid question but I don't want to ruin what I have on right now.

All help and advice is welcome.

Thanks!

Welcome to the forum.  Your question is a good one.

Once the beer is ready to move to either bottling or secondary, you should not do anything that put oxygen into the wort.  The only time you should intentionally put oxygen into your wort is right after you've cooled it from boiling temperature to yeast pitching temperature.  At that point the yeast need oxygen to reproduce and build strong cell walls.  The yeast will use up that oxygen during the lag phase.  Once it is past that lag phasee, oxygen is bad.  It will created cardboard flavors.