• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

keg carbonating

Brewcave

Apprentice
Reaction score
I would like to try and do all my carbonation in a corny-keg when I'm planning to bottle.  What's the best way to go about it.  I presently use kegs with co2 in my keg-meister.  I'm just getting into kegging, but still like to bottle sometimes.

You are the first person that I know that kegs, but says he likes to bottle. After my first keg brew I knew I would never plan on bottling again.

If you ever plan on entering your brews in a competition, they'd need to be in a bottle.

When I switched to kegging my brews, I put my bottling bucket away and haven't touched it since. When I need a couple of bottles for a comp, or I want to bring some to a party (bottles, growlers, etc.) and don't feel like schlepping my keg across town and setting it up, I'll use the Beergun like prj28. Great piece of equipment to have if you keg but still like to put it in a bottle from time to time.

No need to spend hella $$$$ on a beer gun. This is what I do:

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f35/we-no-need-no-stinking-beer-gun-24678/

I have 1 keg and I usually have 3-4 carboys filled. What I do is fill the keg, once its carbonated I bottle the batch and rack the next batch.

One day when I have more kegs and a keezer built I'll probably just bottle when I need to. But for now this works for me.

I just have to add my $.02 about the beer gun.  When it comes to bottling from a keg, there is no easier way to do it, IMHO.  I built my own counterpressure filler.  It now sits under the work bench collecting dust.  My wife bought me a Blichmann beer gun for Christmas a couple of years ago.  It is the way to go.