• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Lack of Perceived Bitterness

TAHammerton

Grandmaster Brewer
Reaction score
I just put my IPA in the keg that was brewed 30 days ago. I took a sample after a couple of days as I am not good at waiting (for the carbonation to develop) and was surprised to find the beer did not taste bitter. I double checked by giving it to my wife to try (who hates very bitter beer such as Torpedo) and she loved it commenting it was not very bitter! This is a beer with a calculated IBU of 95.8! It has a wonderful aroma and hoppy taste but is more like a well balanced amber than a full on IPA when it comes to bitterness.  It is by no means a bad beer, just not what I was expecting. So what happened?

The hops have been stored in my freezer since they have been in my possession. Everything but the Citra and amarillo were in Oxygen purged packets from Northern Brewer. The Citra came from the local brewery and were vacuum packed in plastic - not sure if oxygen barrier. The Amarillo is from an Oahu Homebrew store in foil packet - not sure if oxygen flushed. The age of these hops is anybodys guess.

I did do half the bitterness as a FWH with 90 min boil and the other half as late additions. It also has not cleared very well and exhibits a distinct haze.

Here is the recipe:

BeerSmith 2 Recipe Printout - http://www.beersmith.com
Recipe: Hop Tsunami 1.1 Brew
Brewer: Tom Hammerton
Asst Brewer:
Style: American IPA
TYPE: All Grain
Taste: (30.0)

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Boil Size: 6.24 gal
Post Boil Volume: 5.46 gal
Batch Size (fermenter): 5.00 gal 
Bottling Volume: 5.01 gal
Estimated OG: 1.066 SG
Estimated Color: 10.8 SRM
Estimated IBU: 95.8 IBUs
Brewhouse Efficiency: 66.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 72.6 %
Boil Time: 90 Minutes