• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Trouble shooting my first all grain beer (sweet smell/taste)

hewzter

New Forum Member
Reaction score
Hi,

First, let me apologize  my poor english, I am from Sweden. Also, I am kind of new to brewing, I just started this autumn.

Now, I would like some help identifying a problem. I get it in all my beers so far, it's most noticiable in hop heavy IPA/DIPA's, it does not matter in stouts and porters. The recipies I use is top ranked beersmith recipies with very small alternations (we use malts from "Viking malt", but exchange recipies malt with Vikings pale ale, caramell/crystal, munich etc).

When primary and secondary are finished the beer tastes excellent, all the hop aroma and taste I was looking for, then i add the carbonation sugar and in the bottles they go. After a week on bottle the smell starts to get "sweet/fruity" almost like strawberrie bubblegum, it is hard to describe. At this point half the hop flavour is still there. After two weeks and older bottle conditioning, the sweet smell totally removes ALL smell of hops. Now, I can smell this on beer i buy sometimes also, especially now when i recognize it. 

Could it be DMS in low quantities giving this smell? I have been searching diffrent forums for a few weeks now and no one describes this smell (or they do, but I dont realize it). Does anyone know what I am describing? DMS is always described as canned corn or overcooked veggies, and that does not describe my problem very good.

I suspect DMS since we have been having problems getting a really good rolling boil with out equipment, It's moving, but definitley not as it could be. The next planned brewing we will be adding more power for a better boil.