• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

An Italian Lager

Onepotbrewer

New Forum Member
Reaction score
Hi Proper Brewers!

I am new to brewing and have purchased one of the starter kits to put in my newly acquired basement. My first "brew" was an Apple Pie and custard cider which has gone down brilliantly. I think I got lucky! I'm now trying to impress my in-laws who mainly drink Peroni's when I go round to visit. Has anyone got any advice on how to adapt a kit to make it like an Italian lager. I was advised to buy a light lager initially and then research it, but I ha vent managed to find much out.

Cheers!

Onepotbrewer

Do you have good fermentation temp regulation?  Lagers are more picky than ales when it comes to fermentation temps.

I agree with Brewmex!  Trying to make a lager for your first brew is setting yourself up to fail. 

Will you make a drinkable beer?  Probably. 

Will you make something that will impress the in-laws?  I doubt it!

An ale is a much better choice for a first brew.  However, you probably won't impress the in-laws with anything that you make, unless they already have acquired an appreciation for a flavorful ale type of beer.

Fermentation temperature control is critical when making the type of beer that you're striving to make.  You'll have to be able to hold fermentation temperatures in the 50F (+ or - a few degrees) range to make a good enough lager to impress them.

If you ferment a lager at higher temperatures, you've basically made a steam beer.  Steam beers can be quite lager-like, but it probably won't be anything like a Peroni.

Here are some links to resources on Steam beer, lager beer and making a peroni clone.  No matter what route you decide to take, I wish you good luck with your attempt.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Steam_beer