• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

General noob starter questions

midka

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hello guys! First post.

I'm sorry for all the questions you are about to read.  I'm terrible at navigating forums and I either find no topics I need in the search or too many to read thru.

I purchased the beersmith2 program to take the next step.

I'm a novice brewer that has only done brews from extract and I'm ready to move up to partials.  I enjoy watching YouTube videos and tutorials on the topic but it may have caused some over thinking on my part.

(If the questions below have been answered on another thread please feel free to post just the link. I wont be offended)

BOIL:

1. I noticed that a lot of brewers in the videos have different times they would add liquid/dry extract to the boil.  Some do all at the beginning, some add a little at the beginning and the rest at the end and some still do it all at the end! Which is best??

2. Some of the recipes require adding some of the hops at the 0.0 min mark of the boil.  Some video brewers do this differently by adding it at a 15 min flame out. Others did it at the 0.0 min mark and moved it right to the ice bath.  What is the proper way to add these to the wart at the 0.0 mark?

Bottling:

1. The kits I had been using came with the coopers tablets that go directly into the bottle.  I'd like to use corn sugar from now on.  I have noticed that some of the videos have people adding the proper amounts via funnel to each bottle and some putting all of the sugar into a little bit of water, dissolving it, and then adding it all to the bottler bucket before bottling. Which is preferred?

Thanks again for the help.  I'm sure it's not that big of a deal, I just want to do it the best way possible.

-Midka

midka said:
BOIL: