• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Brewing with limited means, any reviews/opinions about Brewjacket Immersion?

Tachinomia

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am new to homebrewing and after an experiment with a Coopers kit, which was not too bad actually, I decided to go straight to AG with BIAB.

I did a couple of SMASH that were really acceptable, certainly not award winning but better than the commercial swill. As I live in Japan the industrial beer can be pretty bad here...

My latest batch is an oatmeal stout that is quite good but the head does not last. I suspect it's fusel oils because fermentation temp was a bit high. It gets quite warm here in spring an summer and I do not have enough space for a fermentation fridge.

It is very annoying to put so much time and effort into something (especially when the wife does not comprehend the why of this whole thing...) and it turns out to be unsatisfactory to say the least.

So I have been wondering about the Brewjacket Immersion for a while but there are very few comments about it on the web. If this works it would allow me to brew ales in the summer and lagers in winter, like in the good old times before refrigeration.

http://www.brewjacket.com/

Next week I am going to make an extract pale ale, no time for AG, and go swamp cooler but temp control will be almost non existent again, therefore it is impossible to improve the process.

Any helpful comments would be much appreciated,

Cheers,

T