• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

new equipment profile seems to be causing problems

dlauridsen

Apprentice
Reaction score
Would love anyone's feedback that might have some insight to my issue. I've been using Beersmith for a couple of years now with no problems. I've always hit my target gravities within a point or two, and usually on the high side. I've been trying to improve my accuracy, and not try to squeeze every last drop of wort out of my kettle so I recently modified my equipment profile to reflect trub/ chiller and fermenter losses which I had not previously accounted for. I've brewed three batches with this new profile and on all three of them have missed my target gravity by 10-12 points, on the low side. What's interesting is that when I scale a recipe to the new profile, my 'Est. Mash Eff' on the design tab of Beersmith jumps way up, from about 73-74% before to 84, 85, 86% now, depending on the recipe. It doesn't seem like this estimated efficiency should do anything to my actual recipe but it does seem odd that I'm missing by 10-12 points and that estimated percentage has jumped up by 10-12 percent. Is this just coincidental? Anyways, I'm quite frustrated to be missing my gravities all of a sudden when I've been consistently hitting targets for the past couple of years. If anyone has any insight into what I might be doing wrong with this profile I'd really appreciate your thoughts.

Here are the numbers I had for my profile before:

Brewhouse efficiency: 72%
Hop utilization: 100%

Mash tun vol: 13 gal
Mash tun weight: 13 lbs
Mash tun specific heat: .3 (cooler)
Lauter Tun deadspace: 0

Top up water: 0
calc. boil vol: checked
boil time: 90 min
boil off: 1.5 gph
use as hourly rate: checked

Loss to trub and chiller: 0
Top up water: 0
Batch volume: 5 gal