• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Hitting values

LesFCHB

Apprentice
Reaction score
I'm new to BS2. I'm loading in a Lagunitas Cappuccino Stout recipe from BREW 250 Clone Recipes. The numbers don't hit what the recipe in the magazine says. Example: SRM should be 35 and BS2 says it will be 25. Will my beer be closer to the original by using the recipe without change or use BS2 to bring the numbers into line with what the mag. says?
Thanks

You have to have the reference point for the numbers to match what you're doing, to be correct. Whenever you add a recipe from a website, magazine or book, always make sure that the equipment profile matches what they are referencing.

It's also possible that they are using a different color of roast or black malt than you got in BeerSmith's database. Make sure the color numbers match there, too.

Once you have the recipe inputted with the correct profile and ingredients, you'll then use the Scale Recipe function to match it to your own equipment. This may change some ingredient amounts and ratios in a minor way, but it should end up making the correct color and flavor for the beer.

I should have added I am doing extract and the recipe is also for extract. They do say to boil in 5 qt. then rinse with water, then top up to 5 gal when the boil is finished. I do a full wort boil. So there are differences already. Unfortunately there are no color numbers associated with the grains. Thanks for the information. I'll try the Scale Recipe function. I'm thinking I should try to hit the recipe numbers to get as close as I can to the original.
Thanks again brewfun.

LesFCHB said:
I should have added I am doing extract and the recipe is also for extract.