• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Storing my beer

jobard

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi'all

I have a silly question to ask those more experienced ones. I started brewing more than my fridge can hold (just bought a second fridge dedicated to brewing), so my question is: How should I properly store my beer at room temp. (please note that I live in Rio de Janeiro - Brazil, and the temp. here is around 95ºF) lest it spoils?
Should it be:
[list type=decimal]
[*]Right after bottling, before carbonation;
[*]Right after carbonation, before aging;
[*]"X" days after fermentation;
[*]Other;
[/list]

Thanks

I hold my bottles at about room temperature for about three weeks and then put them into cold refrigerator storage from then on.

With high gravity beers, with a lot of ABV, I might give them 5 weeks at room temperature, since the yeast is probably stressed and take longer to carbonate.

You can't put them in cold storage until they are carbonated.  What a great excuse to take a bottle after three weeks of room temperature conditioning and put it in the refrigerator for two or three days to get it cold and settled, then take it out and pop one open and see how it's doing.  This sampling will tell you if they need more time at room temperature.

Scott Ickes said:
I hold my bottles at about room temperature for about three weeks and then put them into cold refrigerator storage from then on.

With high gravity beers, with a lot of ABV, I might give them 5 weeks at room temperature, since the yeast is probably stressed and take longer to carbonate.