• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Beginner ingredient kit question

crocktherock

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hello, I'm new to home brewing - thanks to my wonderful kids.  I got a 5 gallon BSG German Style Light beer making kit for Christmas.  Under Fermentables it contains

1. A 3.3lb can of Light Malt Extract (LME)
2. A 1lb bag of Corn Sugar
3. A 1lb bag of Rice Syrup Solids

While the instructions cover the use of the LME, it doesn't contain a word about either of the other two fermentables.  I'm not sure how to use them, if I should use them, or are they optional at some point in the process.

Appreciate your help.

Although both of them are technically optional (much like any ingredient),  if you wish to get the intended results of the recipe, you should add them.  They can be added at the beginning of the boil, along with the extract.  Some suggest adding half of the extract and sugars at the beginning and half in the last 15 minutes of the boil. Either way should result in great beer made proudly by you.

Corn sugar will lighten body, boost alcohol, and dry out big beers; while rice syrup solids will increase the fermentable sugars (Gravity) of your beer without adding any body or color. 

If this will be your first time brewing,  I would recommend following the intended recipe (some instructions aren't very well written and often leave things out,  such as when to add these things). That way if something goes wrong,  you can usually assume it was something in your process.  If you alter, that opens up the margin of error. Once you have nailed down the process with a few batches,  then you can start getting creative. 

Most importantly,  have fun brewing,  and welcome to the obsession,  err,  hobby!

Cheers!