• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Has fermentation stopped and should I bottle?

TheJake

Apprentice
Reaction score
I'm new to brewing beer, but I have been brewing wine for about 2 years. I just racked my first batch of beer into a carboy from a primary bucket last night. Prior to racking activity in the air was decent, but now there are no signs that fermentation is still happening. The center piece of the airlock hasn't even raised up, so it doesn't look like any pressure is building up.

My question it did I do something wrong? And how long should I wait before I bottle it? I'm really nervous about exploding bottles

By the way starting specific gravity was 1.040 and last night it was 1.015

I am fairly new myself to brewing but it sounds from what you have said everything is ok with your brew.
The easiest way to tell if your brew is done fermenting is to take gravity readings and if your gravity readings stay the same for 3 days in a row it should be ready to bottle.
So if you take 3 more readings over the next 3 days and it stays at 1.015 ( which seems like a good reading to me )  I would say it is done .

As for your worrying about exploding bottles That is not going to be an issue unless you over prime them with to much dextrose ( if this is what you are using? ). This should not be an issue if you are using  beersmith  to work out the amount needed for the carbonation you are wanting for your beer.

I just made and IPA and for 23litres ( 6.07 G ) i used 120 grams ( 4.23 Oz ) of dextrose which i boiled in 1 1/4 cups of water for 5 mins then let cool and added to a empty plastic fermenter then draind my wort into that to mix it and then bottled and it has turned out fine.