• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Sparge water amount.

arctic78

Grandmaster Brewer
Reaction score
Ok this is my first all grain attempt and I have a question about the sparge water amount that I have been given by beersmith. I am doing a thin mash with 3.1 litres (.81 G) per 450 grams (1lb)of grain  I am told to mash in with 16.66 litres (4.40G) then mash out with 8.37 (2.21G) and my sparge water amount is 3.75 (1G) This is for a boil volume of 23litres (6G) And an APA
So my question is ... 3.75 litres seems like very little water to sparge with ???? and is it worth making the mash a little thicker or is that amount of sparge water ok/normal ?

Thanks for any advise.

Sorry for the unit disparity here - although I am also new to brewing I usually use about 1.25 qts of water per lb of grain.  This would be more like .3 G per lb.  this would bring down your initial water volume and also reduce your sparge amt too since you won't need as much water to heat to mash out temps - hope this helps

That does seem like a low volume of sparge water.  I typically don't mash out, so all that volume would transfer over to sparge water. 

What temp is your mash out water?  An option, if you're set on mashing out, would be to bump up the temp of that water, which would then require less volume to hit your mashout temp.

In any case, you'll be fine, I just think there's an opportunity to get slightly higher efficiency by making sure you rinse the grains a bit better.

Thanks for the replys .
@ jtoots...I have been playing around in the mash setup and have found a few things that have helped to improve my sparge water amount with out changing the strike water amount.