• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Efficiency Discussion and Question

joejarboe

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi all -
New to the Beersmith forums... I have seen a few questions on here regarding brew efficiency and thought I would provide some information on what I have learned so far - although keep in mind I am a newbie to all grain brewing - only my 9th batch so far. 
First, I use a very basic setup for my brewing - I have one 9 gallon brew pot and 2 coolers (one 10 gallon round igloo cooler for mash tun and one 48 quart cooler for hot liquid tank). 

First lesson learned was not to use a Stainless steel hose (plumbing line) as the mash tun filter/false bottom.  Pay the money and get a real false bottom for your cooler - especially if you are fly sparging.