• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Missing pre boil gravity from mash

Reaction score
I am 2 mashes into a bag of Canadian 2 row, where I have missed my expected preboil gravity target by about 10 points each time.  My expected pre boil volumes have been fairly consistent. 

I am relatively new to mashing, but my previous 4 or 5 mashes have been fairly good for meeting targets.  I just emailed the malting company for a spec sheet on this grain since I believe it is causing my issues.  I did an iodine test at the end of the mash and it showed no starch.

In order to get back to hitting my targets, what is my best bet? Should I:

1) change the average yield of this grain using beer Smith? (Adjust grain yield until the recipes show my value for preboil gravity, then average the result)

2) change my brew house efficiency until it matches my numbers

Or is there something I am missing totally? Beer Smith has been a lot nicer to use since moving away from extract, but it still causes some issues.. or perhaps it's just me. Haha

Any insight is appreciated!

What maltsters can do is both amazing and little understood by brewers. We brewers simplify it down to sprouting and kilning, without realizing that the malt undergoes a lot more scrutiny and quality control than we realize. Then, we blame the malt when a lot of other brewer process related issues could be the real issue.

Is this malt the same as what you were buying from your source, prior to buying bulk? If so, then this is likely an issue with milling. If it's premilled, and in a humid environment, the malt could be losing potency. I'm glad you asked for the lot analysis and would like to see it, too.