• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Will the taste of my fermented wort improve? (please excuse me I'm new to this)

Molly

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi all,

I kegged my 3rd all grain brew this evening. All 3 of my beers were heavily hopped and after cooling ect I ended up with 46 liters. I used 100 grams warrior (60 min) for bittering and 600 grams of aroma hops in the hop stands and a 250 gram dry hop for each keg (2 x 18L kegs in total)

The wort tastes the same for all 3 beers and i'm worried about spending anymore money in case i'm making a huge mistake.

Does the hop aroma improve with conditioning? It doesn't smell or taste of beer. (more like soap) :(

This is what i'm doing:

stage 1: adding bittering hops 60 min into the boil.

Stage 2 : adding aroma hops for a 30 min hop stand.

Stage 3: adding wort to fermenter/pitching yeast starter

stage 4: transfer beer to 2 x 25 liter kegs and dry hopping for 1 week

Stage 5: transfer to 2 x 18 liter coke kegs and condition.

All of my beers taste the same at stage 5. will they improve? HELP!!!

All 3 of my beers were heavily hopped

Maybe that's why they all taste the same. Try making a style that doesn't use a ton of hops. Perhaps a stout (not an Imperial), or a porter, ESB, session ale, blonde ale, or something other than an IPA. Go to the store and try a few different styles. Fine one you like, and then make a batch.  Just because you're making homebrew doesn't mean you need to make something with a ton of alcohol and hops. I personally aim for a starting gravity of around 1.040 and rarely use more than two ounces of hops in a batch.