• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Water Profile, Water Additions, and Volumes

Fr5ed

Apprentice
Reaction score
I am confused about volumes and water profiles, including additions.  Granted I am brand new to BeerSmith and will be brewing my very first batch next weekend.  I have chosen Prairie Oatmeal Stout.

I have entered and saved my filtered tap water profile (Ward Labs test results).  I want to treat my water to match Dublin for this recipe, so I used the Water Profile to do so and saved the results to a new profile titled "Apopka to Dublin".  It shows the additions to achieve the water: 2 gm gypsum, 0.6 gm CaCl, and 2.4 g chalk. It says this is for a water volume of 5 gallons.  That all seems straight forward so far.

Next - looking at the recipe for Prairie Oatmeal Stout, I really start getting confused. The recipe says it is a 5 Gal batch, which is what I want.  When I choose my equipment profile (Brew-Boss 15 Gal, 5 gal batch - this is a BIAB system), the batch volume goes up to 6 Gal.  Isn't the batch volume the desired finished volume?  Why did it go up?

Also, the Estimated Pre-Boil Volume goes to 8 gal.  OK, I understand that - there will be 2 gallons lost through the process.

Looking at the Brew Steps, I see all these volumes.  I am listing them in chronological order:
1. Under Mash Steps - add 35.52 quarts of water (8.88 gal as noted under Prepare for Brewing).  I realize there will be 0.88 gallons lost to grain absorption.
2. Boil size (the pre-boil, post mash volume previously mentioned) is 8.0 gallons.  If it is less, then I am to add water to achieve 8 gallons for the boil.
3. End of boil volume is estimated to be 7.0 gallons, so 1 gallon lost to boil-off.