• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Help with multi stage mash recipe

belluzzo

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hey all,

I am new to this software, and am sure there is a simple answer to my question. Hope someone can help me out. I've had no problem to get recipes using simpler mash profiles into Beersmith, i.e OG, FG, IBUs, etc are all in the ballpark of the figures given in the original recipe. Now I've spent hours trying to get this Belgian Tripel recipe rigth, but just could not:

http://www.theelectricbrewery.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=28755

I put the mash schedule in a profile, but then FG goes to 1.008. IBU's and color are also off. Volumes are all fine, as I set evaporation rate to 1.9 gal/hour to match the recipe author's equipment.

I've tried it on brewersfriend online recipe tool and the recipe seems to be right. I figure the problem is the mash profile, but did not find any clue on how to fix it. Could any of you help me out and tell me what am I doing wrong.

Thanks,

Walter.

Greetings Bell,

I had the same problems when I recently brewed a triple where I needed a protein rest, two sacch rests and a mash out.

First and foremost, you need to make sure your equipment profile is actual to your equipment.  You don't want to change it simply because you need to match a recipe.  Your equipment is what it is. Your brew house is what it is.

There is a mash profile in BS that I used as my "template".  It's a Double Infusion, Full Body.  I simply added another sacch rest and I had it.  That said, you will have to adjust your target temperatures and times according to your recipe, but BS has the starting point.