• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Wish it were that easy! Ya Right!

Wastegate

Grandmaster Brewer
Reaction score
Ok so I'm easily amused! Im a Master Brewer! Woot!

If only it were this easy. I have been brewing beer for better part of two years and I still have a stinker every now and then. I made a Single Malt and Single Hops (SMaSH) three months ago that started out fine but after it lagered for about two months it had a terrible fusile taste that makes me want to kick the keg and start over. Why waste the kegerator space and the keg right!
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
BeerSmith Recipe Printout - http://www.beersmith.com
Recipe: P.D. SMaSH II
Brewer: Preston Brown
Asst Brewer: Brown_Beer.gif
Style: Standard American Lager
TYPE: All Grain

Recipe Specifications
--------------------------
Batch Size: 5.00 gal     
Boil Size: 6.34 gal
Estimated OG: 1.075 SG
Estimated Color: 5.2 SRM
Estimated IBU: 15.1 IBU
Brewhouse Efficiency: 79.30 %
Boil Time: 60 Minutes

Ingredients:
------------
Amount        Item                                      Type        % or IBU     
10 lbs        Pale Malt, Maris Otter (3.0 SRM)          Grain        83.33 %     
1.00 oz      Goldings, B.C. [5.00 %]  (60 min)        Hops        15.1 IBU     
0.50 oz      Goldings, B.C. [5.00 %]  (0 min)          Hops          -           
0.25 tsp      Irish Moss (Boil 10.0 min)                Misc                     
1.50 tsp      PH 5.2 Stabilizer (Mash 60.0 min)        Misc                     
50.00 gm      Oak Chips (Secondary 7.0 days)            Misc                     
2 lbs        Candi Sugar, Clear (0.5 SRM)              Sugar        16.67 %     
8.00 gal      Houston, TX (Filtered)                    Water