• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Saving session Data

Rustonrider

Apprentice
Reaction score
I'm somewhat new to BeerSmith and cant for life of me figure out how to so save my session data. What does the version on the top indicate? If I save a session as version 1 then change my data/results from another batch as version 2, it doesn't save separately and also changes the version 1 data. Does this make any sense? I'm just trying to log my results from batch to batch to ensure some kind of consistency.

BeerSmith has a brew log folder which you can use to keep copies of recipes and the data associated with that brew session.

To use it, click on the recipe you want to brew, and click on the 'copy to log' on the icon ribbon.  This will place a copy of your recipe into a folder which is called 'brew log'.  Now you can open up  the brew log folder and enter your brew day data while preserving a copy of your original recipe intact in your standard recipe folder. 

I've attached a screen shot of my brew log folder so you can see how I use it.

Attachments

• brew log capture.JPG
    brew log capture.JPG
    110.3 KB · Views: 30
Thankyou i was wondering the same thing after just using it for the first time.

What makes beersmith save the recipie to the calendar then? I thought it would be linked to the log function. Also how do you remove a recipie that appears on the calendar?

You can set the parameters for which recipes appear on the calendar under 'options'  >> 'Brewing'.  Here you can set which folder or folders containing recipes will appear and whether or not they will appear on the calendar if you have your name listed as the brewer (very handy).