• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Beginner with questions about kegs.

Tyoung68

Apprentice
Reaction score
Well, hello all I'm pretty new to brewing and have questions about whats style of keg i should get, or If I should even get one. With the runs I've done I've bough bottles and try to save them, but you know after getting a few beers in, i don't really want to wash bottles... any ways long story short tried to was them out and ended up with moldy beers. so at 1$ a bottle a keg seems like a better option.

so I'm asking all you gurus, Tell me everything I need to know to pick out the right style of keg.

thanks!!

Here are a few links:
  http://beersmith.com/kegging/
  http://beersmith.com/blog/2008/02/14/how-to-keg-homebrew-beer/
  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Dx-9W4hJlTM

I like the podcast myself...

Brad

Been a bottler for over 20 years... It is a bitch, but I find that a beer in hand while washing makes the work go much more quickly, and with bottles, you have no limits as to the varieties you can have at one time in your "secret room" I have 18 different styles sitting at any given time...Be really expensive with kegs! I woulde have to start a mini...hmmmmm

I do 1/4c bleach to 5 gallons and just dunk the bottles in for @15 minutes then use my bottle sprayer to rinse them out and taa daa... But to each his own.