• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Where to enter pump hose losses

tkline

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi all - I'm new to beersmith2 and I'm trying to figure out where I can enter my total loss of liquid in my pump lines (it's 0.85 gallons for an entire brewday).  I have two questions tied to this:

[list type=decimal]
[*]I have an SS Brewtech mashtun with 0 deadspace, so I'm not losing any liquid under the false bottom.  I only lose a bit of water due to grain absorption but my calculation here is generally pretty accurate.  Should I be adding the .85 hose loss to the mash tun addition or lauter tun loss fields?  Or is there a better area to account for the loss?  I found these a bit confusing.
[*]Since next time I brew I'd ultimately want to add an additional .85 gallon to account for my loss, I don't want to dilute my mash.  How can I best add the .85 for the loss, and have my strike / sparge volume update, in addition to making sure my grain percentages scale up appropriately?  I think beersmith2 can do this but I'm confused how.
[/list]

Appreciate the help!

Loss to trub and chiller if you're dealing with your boil kettle. If you're dealing with your MLT it would be entered under Lauter Tun losses.

Thanks for the response.  I have already accounted for loss in my kettle due to trub and chiller, and I don't have any loses in my lauter tun besides the line loss and grain absorption.  Basically I'm losing pure water during pre-heating, strike and sparge steps, wort during transfer, wort during whirlpool, etc.  So I'm still not sure where I should be entering the .85 gallon loss.  Does that make sense?

I am trying to visualize your system.