• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Another 2-Row vs Pale Malt Question

TestTickle

Apprentice
Reaction score
Total newbie here, but just when I thought I knew the answer, I started using BeerSmith.

I have seen recipes that call for "Pale Malt (2-row)" but with different SRM's. I see 2-rows such as Briess Brewer's Malt or Rahr 2-row that are 1.7L or 1.8L, but then I see others with higher SRM's in the 3-4L range that are pale ale malts. I have read until I am cross-eyed and for the most part, it seems that pale malt and 2-row are the same, but pale ale malt is more highly kilned, richer in flavor, yada yada yada.

So here is my confusion. Regarding recipes calling for pale malts, should I be going by the SRM of those malts rather than the description of the malt? For example, if a recipe says "Pale Malt (2-row) (3.0 SRM), should I focus on getting a 3.0L malt (which from my research, is actually a Pale Ale malt?)?

My head hurts. I see Dingeman's Pale Ale Malt on one brew website, and on another website, I see Dingeman's Pale malt...same specs.

If someone could kindly dumb it down for me in a simple spreadsheet with a flow chart and lots of pictures, arrows and stick figures with smiley faces, that would be great. OK, just a simple and clear explanation would work.

Yeah get what the recipe calls for if it means 2 row normally it says 2 row if it means pale it says pale.

The only real difference is color.

Pale malt, or Pale Ale malt are darker than plain 2-row as a rule. The color may vary from maltster to maltster.