• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

PreBoil Volume Seems High

makemorebeer

Brewer
Reaction score
I was brewing sunday afternoon when it occured to me my volume seemed very high.  I'm wondering if i've got something wrong in my equipment profile or if i fudged an entry somewhere else.  I'm very new to AG brewing.  Sundays brewday was my second AG ever, but i've been doing extract and partial mash for about 3 years now.  i've been using Beersmith for most of that time, but up until now alot of the volumes were simply ignored since they don't really seem to match up with the partial mash and extract processes i was taught. 

so all that said, before i started i built a Mashtun out of a Coleman 12gal cooler, some stainless fittings, etc.  using the details from this and a new tall boy 8 gal. kettle i built my equipment profile. 

what i've found is that Beersmith has me sparging to the point where i should be coming out with a pre-boil volume of 7.67 gal.  for a 5.5gal batch size that seems like a lot and my losses don't seem to add up to that amount and it seems to be a much larger volume than i'd need.  Am I mistaken, or is something amiss.  I also noted (i assume this played into it), my post mash gravity came in at 1.043 but was expected to be at 1.053.  (my number was calculated using my hydrometer and the temperature adjust tool in beersmith)

Any assistance, guidance or recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

You can check to see if you set up your profiles correctly by comparing what you did with what these tutorials suggest. There is one for Equipment Profile setup and another for batch sparge Mash Profiles. On their youtube channel they also have a tutorial for BIAB if you need that

Mash Profile (batch sparge): https://youtu.be/CZ0TFtMnzxs