• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Volumetric Concerns - Newbie

sickbrew

Grandmaster Brewer
Reaction score
I have some basic volume concerns:

To preface my post and provide context "I'm a newbie" and this is my first time using any brewing software and only my 2nd all grain batch.  I had some “Issues” on the first batch so I’m now seeking the help of Beersmith and its legion of followers.

Sooo.

I plan on brewing up a 5 gallon batch of IPA with about a 15 lbs grain bill.

The details:

Batch Size: 5.00 gal and Boil Size: 6.82 gal

Mash In: 3.88 gal H20 @ 173.3 F – 60 minutes
Mash Out: 2.33 gal H20 @ 197.4 F – 10 minutes
Batch Sparge Round 1: Sparge with 3.81 gal @ 168 F

Sooo. My total mash & sparge volume is 10.02 gallons of which some will stay in the grain 10.02 - 6.82 = 3.2 gal remaining in the grain. I guess this is about right?

Kicker: Using the “Boil Off” calculator with a starting volume of 6.82 gallons for 60 minutes my final volume is 5.96 gallons.  What happened to 5 gallons?

Is this correct and I will end up with 5 gallons of bottled/kegged beer once it’s finally been racked from primary and pulled from the secondary?  This relates to my first all grain beer “issue” where I ended up with 7 gallons of wort for a 6 gallon batch, after a 75 minute boil, and an OG that was low.

Also, I think I got the recipe attached if anyone really wants the details.

Sorry for the long post, and thanks in advance!

Cheers, Joe

Attachments

• Joe's IPA.bsm
    13.8 KB · Views: 262
sickbrew said:
To preface my post and provide context "I'm a newbie" and this is my first time using any brewing software and only my 2nd all grain batch.  I had some “Issues” on the first batch so I’m now seeking the help of Beersmith and its legion of followers.