• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Looking for feedback in first 20l Braumeister Recipe Design

chrisluki

New Forum Member
Reaction score
Hey all

I'm new to the Brau, haven't brewed on it yet and trying to work out the differences in brewing with it vs my old systems.

I have designed this recipe to be a really simple first attempt for this weekend and was wondering if you could please offer me any advice around the water additions to make sure I dont calculate them incorrectly. I am a bit confused with how to correctly show the strike water and "top-up" method that Brau uses.

Cheers

Chris

Type: All Grain
Batch Size: 20.10 L
Boil Size: 25.60 L
Boil Time: 60 min
End of Boil Vol: 23.00 L
Final Bottling Vol: 18.30 L
Fermentation: Ale, Two Stage
Equipment: Braumeister - 20 Litre
Efficiency: 68.00 %
Est Mash Efficiency: 77.8 %

Ingredients

4.00 kg Pale Malt (2 Row) US (3.9 EBC)
0.30 kg Munich Malt (17.7 EBC) 
0.20 kg Cara-Pils/Dextrine 3.9 EBC
0.20 kg Caramel/Crystal Malt - 120.0 EBC
0.20 kg Melanoiden Malt 39.4 EBC

30.00 g Citra [13.00 %] - Boil 15.0 min
25.00 g Citra [13.00 %] - Boil 10.0 min 
25.00 g Citra [13.00 %] - Boil 5.0 min 
20.00 g Citra [13.00 %] - Steep/Whirlpool 10.0 min, 70.0 C 

1.0 pkg SafAle English Ale

Est Original Gravity: 1.050 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.008 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 5.5 %
Bitterness: 43.3 IBUs
Est Color: 14.2 EBC

Mash Steps
Mash In Add 21 L of water at 70.0 C 63.0 C 30 min
Mash Step Heat to 70.0 C over 5 min 70.0 C 30 min
Mash Step Heat to 77.0 C over 2 min 77.0 C 10 min

Fill up Braumeister with 7L water

Hi Chris,

I do not have a Braumeister, so I will just give you some generic advice.