• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Yeast "Best By" date vs "Package Date" in Beersmith

OldGoat

New Forum Member
Reaction score
I have been using Beersmith for MANY years now and am currently on the latest version (BS3).  Over the last couple of years I have seen that yeast labs have gone from stamping the packaging date on the yeast to instead stamping the "Best By" date.  However, as far as I can tell, BS only has the option of entering the packaging date.  Has anyone figured out the correct way to enter the date that will make the most sense.  With that question out there, I do admit that I don't pay a LOT of attention to that date unless it is very expired.  I make a starter for pretty much every beer I brew and rarely have an issue.  Also, I wonder if anyone knows if a fix is in work to allow us to enter the "Best By" date...

It appears the BeerSmith ages yeast based on the packaging date. IIRC, that would be 90 days before the best by date for liquid yeasts and 2 years for dry. Several yeast manufacturers have stretched out the age they consider their yeasts as still being pitchable for a standard batch. Since the pitching rate and starter tool doesn't specify brand names, we can assume the aging is still calculated in the same manner as in earlier versions.