• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Help with Beersmith and Equipment profile

MercifulGiraffe

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hello all, Apologies if this is in the wrong location - I'm new to the forum.

I'm new to beersmith, and am having trouble converting an existing recipe, and i think its something to do with the equipment profile.

I am trying to convert the following recipe to the grains available locally, and my equipment profile:

I have a Brewzilla 65L, and i setup the following equipment profile for half batches (23L):

I have ended up with the following, and am confused about how:
1) I ended up with a VERY high IBU on line 6

2) How much water this equipment profile indicates i should be using - Sparge water seems to be way too much for the total volume required, am I just reading this wrong?

Can anyone tell me what I'm doing wrong, or what I'm missing?

So the IBU being very high seems to be related to the "Estimate Boil Hop Util in Whirlpool" setting. If it turn this off, then the IBU's are back to where I expect.

Still confused about how to read the volumes needed though... :)

It may be the equipment profile or it may be your methodology for converting the recipe.  There is nothing in your equipment profile which stands out as different.  Realize that even if you downloaded a Brewzilla profile, you will still need to do some customization on the profile to get it to match the way you use your equipment.