• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

HELP!!! I have no clue what I'm doing wrong.

F

flatblack82

I've been using extract for about 4 years and just recently purchased the setup to begin producing all grain batches. For some reason they never turn out with the correct OG. The first batch I didn't trust BeerSmith with the strike water and therefore it was to cool to convert much of the starches to sugars. I brewed another batch today to hopefully redeem myself, but somehow it told me to strike with 3.75 gallons of water and sparge with 5 gallons of water. I did this and well I pretty much have a very unsweet wort after the ninety minute boil. I followed the BeerSmith recipe exactly this time. I got this recipe today off the BeerSmith website and was just hoping for some guidance. Thanks in advance.

-Joshua-

Can you tell us a little bit about your process?  It will be able to see where you going wrong if we know a little more about what you're doing. 

In the meantime, check your equipment settings in BeerSmith.  It is very important to have that dialed in so BS can work for you as best it can.  If you're sure you have those settings set up right I would suggest trust BeerSmith, some things might seem unintuitive but I've found that to be a very trustworthy program that usually gets me pretty close to where I want to be. 

A stop gap idea is to dial the effeciency on the recipee down to 70-75, You'll use an extra pound of base malt here and there, but I'm always willing to pay $2 more for good beer.

Then once you get it together, you can figure out what you get effciency wise and set it accordingly.

One thing to know is the mashtun temp and the grain temp.  Brewing in the winter, I found that it was tought to get my 155degrees when both of those were like 30-40.