• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Lambic/Flanders Red

N

Northwood

Hello everyone, I just sampled my first Flanders Red Ale (Vichtenaar) and have to try my hand at brewing something similar.  Problem is, I've never done a lambic before and haven't been able to dig up much about the them.  Has anyone here brewed the style?  I'm thinking of using the Wyeast 3763 Roeselare blend after pitching US-05, but welcome any and all suggestions otherwise (recipes, too).  Also, any pointers towards books dealing with the style would be great.

Best,

Northwood

Ah yes, another one gets hooked. It's an incredible beer style, and somewhat difficult to do well. I think the yeast line up you've got listed there would be perfect. You will have to be very patient though, as the brettanomyces takes a minimum of one year to fully ferment and develop. I've got a beer that was originally fermented with Chimay yeast, then aged in a syrah barrel with lactobacillus, pediococcus, and brettanomyces lambicus for 18 months. It's now been sitting in a 5 gallon cornelius keg for 2 years, and is starting to get very good. It's very similar to the Rodenbach Flanders. I say go for it with your plan. Just be patient and let it age well.

Darin

Darin, thanks for the input, it sounds like you've got this style down.  Now my only problem is finding a good Flanders Red recipe--I called the local brewshop, but nobody there had a clue how to brew it :-\  Also, I don't have a syrah barrel laying around (wish I did...), so do you think that oak chips in the secondary would be an acceptable stand in?

Cheers,
Michael

Michael -