• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Mash Temperature Calculations

F

FastWilly

While I have been homebrewing for 40 years, I am new to BeerSmith.  I have been using my own spreadsheet which, after calibration, has given me very accurate strike water temperatures.  BeerSmith called for strike temperatures up to 10 degrees lower, so I adjusted the specific heat constant (I use a very simple 7 gallon plastic pail for a tun) to get temperatures to match my spreadsheet.  All well and good.  However I noted that the strike temperature of BeerSmith does not vary regardless of how much grain is being mashed based on a fixed dilution rate.  It is most notable for small partial mashes where the specific heat of the tun is a bigger factor. And yes, I have checked the box to adjust temperature for equipment.  As an engineer I have faith in my thermodynamic calcs in my spreadsheet and the empirical evidence that they are accurate.  I know the relationship is not linear and therefore the strike water temperatures should vary somewhat given a constant dilution rate.  Am I doing something wrong or is this an inherent limitation in BeerSmith?  Other than this one issue, I've found the software to be intuitive and excellent, a great product.