• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

ISO-good flavor, easy, cheap beer recipe

S

schlemoc

hi,
i'm new to the beer brewing process.  i was looking over some guiness and stout recipes, but since i am fairly broke, those i believe are unattainable, for now at least.  i have been making wine for almost a year now, so i know the general process behind it.  i also have done some research.  this website helps out a lot.  i am in search of a cheaper recipe for brewing 5 gallons of beer that also has a good flavor to it.  simplicity would be nice, but not necessary.  thanks for all those with input.

I don't think you'll find it any cheaper to make a non-stout.  You just use lighter malt instead of dark malt.  I extract brew and typically use 6-8 pounds of dry malt extract($20-$26), .5-1 pounds of adjunct grain (crystal malt) for color and head retention ($?..can't remember, but not much), 2-3 oz of hops ($1-$3), and one package of dry yeast($1.25).  Totals out to about $26-$28 a batch no matter how I do it.  You "could" use less malt, but you did specify you wanted beer with flavor, right?  And using regular sugar to add volume instead of malt is cheaper, but there's that flavor thing again.  :)

Good luck, whichever way you go...