• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Home insurance

L

Little dog brewery

Does anyone have experience with the home insurance aspects of having a brewery in the basement with a propane fired kettle? I have an excellent powerful hood vent, combustible gas/CO detector and a close by fire extinguisher.

If your a Old Salty Dog, set in your ways, and been brewing in your basement with an open propane flame for years, then I have no comment.
But if your pretty new to brewing. Then I would say be carefull, Make sure you always brew with another person. And best of all, Take it outside if at all possible.
stevemwazup.

Thanks for the reply. I have been brewing (all grain) for about 15 years but only the last 4 have been in my basement. I think I take all the necessary precautions to avoid trouble but a close friend who sold insurance all his life said I probably should notify my insurance company of my situation. He said even if a fire started some where else from some other cause the insurance company could give me problems because I never reported the basement brewery. On the other hand I take the chance of a large increase in insurance cost. I just wanted to know if anyone else has faced the same problem and what they did about it

Thanks again Steve.
Al

I'm glad to hear that your brewing safe.
I was envisioning a kid with a new toy playing with matches (or some thing like that).
Your years of experience is welcomed. I think you'll find some cool guys here  at the forum.
stevemwazup

I used to sell insurance and though it was a few years ago, I would say you are fine as long as they didn't ask you any questions related to it in/on your application for insurance (if they do and your answer changes, it is your responsibility to report the change).