• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

The effects of left over hops during fermentation.

Berkyjay

Grandmaster Brewer
Reaction score
So ever since I started brewing, I've been using pellet hopes.  Normally after the boil, I run the wort through a strainer into my carboy.  Even with the strainer I am still left with a fair amount of hop matter in the wort, which hangs around until I transfer into a secondary carboy.  I'm thinking it might be the cause of some slightly bad after tastes that arise in my beers.  I've made the decision to try using more plug and whole hops so as to eliminate this left over hop matter so in the very least I will be eliminating one variable in my problem.  But I was wondering what effects this left over hop matter can do to beer.

Berkyjay said:
So ever since I started brewing, I've been using pellet hopes.  Normally after the boil, I run the wort through a strainer into my carboy.  Even with the strainer I am still left with a fair amount of hop matter in the wort, which hangs around until I transfer into a secondary carboy.  I'm thinking it might be the cause of some slightly bad after tastes that arise in my beers.  I've made the decision to try using more plug and whole hops so as to eliminate this left over hop matter so in the very least I will be eliminating one variable in my problem.  But I was wondering what effects this left over hop matter can do to beer.

Interesting question and I have not run across it before.  I use exclusively pellet hops and have not noticed any ill effects.  I used to move my beer to secondary and now do not even do that anymore.  I will often let the beer sit on the trub for a month or so.  No big deal.