• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

First time brew

S

swinkl

This is my first time brewing,
I just racked into my second fermenter, my recipe says to leave it there for a week.  I tasted it as I was racking, it was extremely bitter and did not really taste like beer.  Is this normal?

It is possible that this is normal, depending on the recipe. Can you post your recipe, Origional gravity (OG), Yeast strain, and how the brewday went? That will help us determine what's going on.

Cheers
Preston

Pale Ale
American Pale Ale
Type: All Grain  Date: 12/2/2009
Batch Size: 5.00 gal  Brewer: Shlomo
Boil Size: 1.60 gal Asst Brewer:
Boil Time: 60 min  Equipment: Shlomo's Equipment
Taste Rating(out of 50): 35.0  Brewhouse Efficiency: 75.0
Taste Notes:

Ingredients
Amount Item Type % or IBU
6 lbs 9.6 oz Pale Liquid Extract (8.0 SRM) Grain 86.8 %
1 lbs Caramel/Crystal Malt - 10L (10.0 SRM) Grain 13.2 %
2.50 oz Cascade [5.50%] (60 min) Hops 23.7 IBU
1.00 oz
Goldings, B.C. [5.00%] (Dry Hop 3
days)
Hops -
1 Pkgs British Ale (Wyeast Labs #1098) Yeast-Ale

Beer Profile
Est Original Gravity: 1.041 SG  Measured Original Gravity: 1.020 SG
Est Final Gravity: 1.010 SG Measured Final Gravity: 1.005 SG
Estimated Alcohol by Vol: 4.0 %  Actual Alcohol by Vol: 1.9 %
Bitterness: 23.7 IBU Calories: 85 cal/pint
Est Color: 8.5 SRM Color:
Color

Mash Profile
Mash Name: Single Infusion,
Full Body
Total Grain Weight: 7.60 lb
Sparge Water: 0.00 gal Grain Temperature: 72.0 F
Sparge Temperature: 168.0 F TunTemperature: 72.0 F
Adjust Temp for Equipment:
TRUE Mash PH: 5.4 PH

Name Description Step Temp Step Time
Mash In Add 9.50 qt of water at 174.0 F 158.0 F 45 min
Mash Out Add 3.80 qt of water at 198.0 F 168.0 F 10 min

Mash Notes: Simple single infusion mash for use with most modern well