• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Wort Boiling

dudester

New Forum Member
Reaction score
I usually start with 6.5 gal. of wort after sparging  and after an hour of boiling I end up with 4.5 gal. Should I top it off to 5 gallons of water . I hate to be short changed . I am new at this.  its an all grain recipe.

First let me say. Welcome to the forum! We are glad you are here.
If you are consistently coming up short on your brew-day's. You should recheck your equipment settings in BeerSmith ( http://www.beersmith.com/equipment_setup.htm ) . You may also want to think about increasing your batch size on your recipe to 5.5 Gallons. This will leave you with about 5 Gallons after your primary and secondary fermentation's. I typically start a boil at about 7-7.5 Gallons depending on the boil length. 

Cheers
Preston

That's a 30% evaporation rate, which sounds high.  Is any of this 2-gallon loss getting trapped in the boiler and just not transferred? 

If you're certain of the equipment and boil-off rate, you could either reduce the vigor of the boil or start with more wort as Preston said.  The 5.5 batch size is good b/c you're more likely to have 5.0 after a couple transfers and the loss to trub in the primary. 

Thanks guys, I appreciate the info. Lets say if I was to add preboiled cooled water to the fermenter to bring it to 5 galons is that a bad practice. Would it be a watered down beer.

Adding Preboiled and cooled water to the primary would not be a bad thing as long as your OG was what was expected, and if that were the case then no it would not be watered down.

People look down on this practice because it has the potential to introduce an infection. So as long as you do everything possible to keep that from happening, you should be fine.

Cheers
Preston