• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

want to do 2.5 to 3 gallon batches ? BIAB or Mash?

Polar Bear

Apprentice
Reaction score
I want to brew 2.5 to 3 gallon batches of AG beer. I prefer the darker ales but would like to brew some Saison and Kolsch. Why small batches? I am a graduate student in the medical healthcare field and am broke. I mostly volunteer my time in more remote underprivileged areas in the midwest. Thus, my only options are to drink commercial light beer, order on line or brew what I prefer to drink. Do to the fact I get moved around allot and put in rather small apartments during this time the smaller batches work for me. My question? Is it better to BIAB or go to the more traditional mash and use batch sparge techniques. I have heard that brewing beer with more body can have noticeable changes when BIAB. Any thoughts. I also make wine in three gallon batches so I have mostly three gallon carboys. My current equipment is a 5 gallon Igloo, 22 qt SS pot, 20 qt SS pot, 2 big turkey frier pots ?qt. Any suggestions or comments on equipment or which technique is greatly appreciated. Also for most 3 gallon batches what might the average amount of grains be?

Previously, I used a 20 qt s/s pot to mash ~7.5# of grain, and usually filled the pot with wort, boiling down to about 3.25 gallons.  I would mash "free range" and put the pot in a warm oven ~170F to maintain temps. 

I could have mashed more but the limit was the pasta strainer I used for lautering.  More weight would have been tricky in/out of the oven, so it worked.  I learned AG that way before moving outside. 

Several people here do BIAG, and that might be better in apartments where you just toss the grain bag.  I compost mine so loose was easier.

Polar Bear,