• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Disparity between estimated original gravity and actual original gravity

Wanderer

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hello! I am a total newbie to the brewing process. This is my fourth batch, all extract, and I just discovered beersmith and thought I'd give it a whirl. What a godsend this program is!

So I'm brewing a honey porter. The estimated OG is 1.052, but my actual measured OG was 1.091

Now I wasn't expecting everything to come out exactly like the program said, but that seems like a bit of a leap outside normal expected variation (or is it?). I've included a screenshot of the beersmith program with the recipe up (the scroll bar cuts off the last ingrediant, which is 3 pounds of honey)

I'm just wondering if I did anything horribly wrong along the way. The grains I steeped while the water was heating up for 20 minutes. The honey I added at the end of the boil after flame off. Since I added the honey so late should I have compensated in some way to get a more accurate estimate of the OG?

It's in the carboy right now fermenting. When it goes into the secondary I plan to add vanilla beans. I really hope it turns out well because this is my first attempt at branching out with a recipe to make it my own, so anything I could do to maintain more control over the estimates in the future would be great.

Attachments

• temporalnectar.JPG
    temporalnectar.JPG
    162.9 KB · Views: 542