• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

RIMS and sparging

dharalson

Grandmaster Brewer
Reaction score
I have been brewing for about 6 years and after a several year sabbatical I've brewed 8 batches this year with 6 all grain and the last 3 have been on my RIMS.  The RIMS is working well and I have been able to hold temperature in the mash and mashout.  My question is: should I continue to recirculate the sweet wort while I am sparging.  I have a drain tap on the outlet side of the heater that drains into the kettle.  I set this to drain about 2-3 cups per minute to get a 30-45 minute sparge and I continue to recirculate until the top of the grain bed is uncovered.

I have been debating with myself (I have won yet :) as to whether makes since or not.  My first thought in doing this was to maintain the sparge temperature, but I am concerned that I am not washing the sugars out well if I keep putting sweet wort on top.

Thoughts?

David

PS:  Why isn't sparge in the dictionary on a brewing forum?

I have been thinkin about this too. I only used my rims-like equipment once, and that time all was catastrophic with a stuck sparge immediatly.

I brewed professionally for about 4 years in the 90's.  The proceedure that we used for lautering was as follows:

Mash out to 168-170F.
For Homebrewing mix the mash very well right at the end of mash-out.
Let the mash rest in tun for 15 min before begining vorluaf (recirc).
Begin vorlauf and continue until desired wort clarity is reached.
Cease vorlauf and begin first kettle runnings - take first wort gravity reading.
Begin sparge with 168-170F liquor when bed is approx 1/2" below surface of wort in lauter tun.
Regulate hot liquor sparge to maintain this approx liquid depth over grain bed.