• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Efficiency vs Mash Temp

McCuckerson

Apprentice
Reaction score
Hi everybody,

I am new here.  I have been brewing for about 3 years and have been hanging around HBT.com but I think I'm done with them; they are really getting stuffy over there. 

Anyway, my question is: When you mash at a full body profile, 158f for 45 min, do you lose efficiency?  I typically mash at 154f come hell or high water but I need to get more body in my beers.

Thanks for having me! :D

You don't lose efficiency but you do have less fermentable sugars.  You efficiency is based on the potential extract of the grain and your actual extract based on your gravity measurements.  For the most accurate efficiency estimation, be sure to cool the wort to 60f and measure the gravity.

The mash temp has a lot to do with the conversion of the sugars and how quickly the enzymes denature. Mash time does have an effect on how much is converted.  60 minutes might give those heartier enzymes a change to do their work though much of the conversion takes place in the first 15 - 20 minutes.  A thinner mash (1.5:1 or 2:1) is a little more efficient that 1:25 or 1:1.

Much of the efficiency as we look at it is from the sparge method.  Being sure to properly compact the grain bed and rinse the sugars from the grains ensures you move most the sugars from the mash tun to the kettle.

I am more concerned with a consistent efficiency so I can be more predictable in the beer characteristics by properly adjusting recipes. I mash the same amount of time using the same, boring process. last time I changed process, my efficiency jumped and my beer was not what I expected or really wanted.