• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale

tmc32

Brewer
Reaction score
I am working on a recipe for a Kentucky Bourbon Barrel Ale clone.

This brew is all about a balance between the base American Amber Ale and the aroma and mild flavor of Oak & fine Bourbon.  It has a well balanced bitterness but little detectable hops flavor or aroma.  There also seems to be little flavor contributed by the yeast.

I think I have the base brew where I want it, but I am undecided on an appropriate yeast and hops for this brew that will not overpower the bourbon.
Right now I am considering Mt. Hood or Hallertauer hops, but don't have a clue on what yeast to use.  The yeast must have good alcohol tolerance and not contribute any strong flavors.

This is my first attempt at building my own clone recipe, so I would appreciate any suggestions you might have.

What's your alc%.  I use a wyeast that is not in the beersmith file.  I don't even know if it exists outside the Northwest.  It's Wyeast 1764 Rogue Pacman. It's my new favorite yeast.  The decription is on the wyeast site.

I also have been thinking of making a whiskey beer but can't decide on the style.

Thanks for the suggestion, Mike.  The final ABV should be 9-10%, but my biggest concern is when introducing the bourbon oak chips.