• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

boil time, am i missing something?

Johnnyv42

Brewer
Reaction score
I'm going to be making an Irish Red Ale tomorrow. The recipe I'm using calls for a hops bittering addition and no flavor or aroma additions. It occurred to me that instead of adding 1.25oz of EKG with 60 minutes of boil to go I could add 2.00 oz instead at 21 minutes to go. This will give me the equivalent IBU's and would add some hop flavors as well. If I decide to add the hops at 21 minutes remaining in the boil is there any reason I have to boil much longer than those 21 minutes. I would wait for the hot break (15 mins or so) and then start my timer. Best I can tell there's nothing wrong with this approach, but I'm an uber novice, so I'd love to get the thoughts of you seasoned veterans.

Thanks!

The approach is fine.  I have done a couple 15 minute hop only additions with good success. 

The challenge is knowing how much isomerization will really occur and how smooth or course the bitter will be.  A smoother bitter is nice but can also leave the drinker thinking the beer is sweeter than it is or a little thin like.

The isomerization is more predictable at longer boil times so the calculated IBU level is more reliable.  I would go with your plan and see how it turns out.  I find following the software too close is rather confining.

Assuming you are using extract you can use this approach.   

Some of the reasons you would want to do a longer boil:
  • Drive off DMS from very light malts
    Melanoidin formation (toasted flavors)
    Wort concentration (Kettle caramelization possibly)
    Protein formation
    Sterilization
    Isomerization of alpha acids