• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

lost recipes

Ilovebeer

Brewer
Reaction score
I have been using BeerSmith for about 5 years and generally have no problems. But twice lately, I have entered recipes and gone back later and they were not there. The first time, when I started BrewSmith, it said that I was using an unregistered copy and had to reenter my key. Then when I did, the recipe I had entered the day before was not there. I figured the two were related and didn't worry about it. But it happened again, and this time without the missing key. I am running Win 7 Pro. Any thoughts?

Hi,
  The default behavior of the program is to go to a backup if it can't open the current recipe file for some reason.  It makes a backup copy about once a day when you use the program regularly.  The backups are in the Documents/BeerSmith2 directory and are called "Recipe1.bsmx. Recipe2.bsmx, etc...) from new to old.

I would have to conclude that something went wrong either writing or reading the previous recipe file (the one from the previous day).  If it happens again you can try saving off a copy of Recipe.bsmx before you close out BeerSmith (do it as quickly as possible after opening and discovering the error - before the autosave timer kicks in) and I can take a look at  it.

The other area where I've heard of problems is when people are using Dropbox or a network drive for storing their recipe data. These sometimes fail to synch which causes the program to drop back to the last good copy.

Brad

Hi

I've just experienced that I lost all my recipes, story is: