• Welcome to the new forum! We upgraded our forum software with a host of new boards, capabilities and features. It is also more secure.
    Jump in and join the conversation! You can learn more about the upgrade and new features here.

Starting need some help

madchef77

Brewer
Reaction score
Hello everyone.  I just started brewing beer and I love it. I want to get more into it and get down to my first AG beer.  But first I have a few questions to ask all of you. I'm going to be talking about a 5 gallon batch.

1.  we all know that malts/barleys have sugar.  my question is, is how much sugar per batch is needed from the malts to make the fermentation work correctly (in a 5 gallon batch ect...) how much is too small and how much is too much?

2.  when adding sugar like honey do I need to take that into account when measuring out the sugar in my wort?

3.  what is the amount of grains per 5 gallons of wort?

4.  one last thing.  Is there somewhere where I can find the amount of sugar that will be extracted from the grains in order to achieve the best fermentation lvl?

Thanks for all your help and happy brewing.

I hope you are reading some of the fine books out there on brewing.  I prefer John Palmer's How to Brew to start with. 

You are asking questions that are pretty typical of folks coming in with little or no research and have not used the software and have yet to read the documentation.

Here are some basic answers.

1. Malted barley does not have sugar.  They have starch that is enzymatically converted to fermentable and non-fermenatable sugars.  Fermentation requires yeast and sugar of some sort.  Fermentation will work correctly with 1 yeast cell and a couple molecules of sugar.  There is no "too small" amount of sugar.  It all depends on what you want to make and how you want it to taste.  Personally, I prefer my beers to be at least %3.5 ABV which would be around a 1.040 starting gravity.  that is about 8 lbs grain on my system.